One of my great bargain buys yesterday, or so I thought, was a rake on sale for $5 (from original $8.99 price). I was able to pull it across the grass =exactly= once before the rake head broke off the handle.

Good thing I also bought an expensive rake.

Not that it matters because it was cold and windy last night and the trees shat leaf babies all over the yard again.  Why didn’t anyone tell me this is what home ownership is about?

On the other hand, this weekend I am doing some painting – redoing the master bedroom, living room, and hallway (Walls, ceiling, trim and all).  Brent is coming out to help me – he’s my best man in the upcoming wedding, and I don’t think I’ve seen more than 6 hours of him in the last 6 months. It will be a good opportunity to catch up.

It becomes ridiculously tough as you get older to keep up friendships – you get squeezed into a family, you have everything pulling you in different directions. Which is why I am really looking forward to the wedding, to get in some real hang out and chill time with all my friends.  I recognize that we only have one week, and with us trying to handle wedding details and lots of distractions for our guests, time will be precious there as well.

I see Mark, Dan, and Brent like once every two months, and Mats once every 6 years.  It’s not enough.  When I win the lottery, I’m scheduling and sponsoring a twice yearly thing with all my friends out of country just to maintain these connections.

