urk. I’ve been sick for the last week. It just hammered me flat, too. Last Saturday night jellybean and I were out for the evening and I was fit as a fiddle – Sunday morning I woke up with a sore throat and full bore cold. I’m just starting to get back to the gym in the mornings and recoup my energy now. One of them super bugs, methinks.

what’s new? thresh lost another singer – personal/career reasons forced
him to move back to calgary. At this point I question if this is
something I really want to continue on with. on one hand I have a time and money invested in it, on the other hand it feels like the
band hasn’t been able to build momentum and it’s hard to
stay focused and excited. For me, the enjoyment of being in a band has
always been from the creative aspect – writing and arranging music and lyrics. The business of playing shows
doesn’t excite me at all – to summarize the few dozen we’ve played – they seem to require a lot more effort than they’re worth.

we got a quick update on the puppy adoption situation – the potential moms haven’t gone into heat yet. It’s kind of strange to think that I am anxiously waiting for a dog to go into heat, but it’s true.by my calculations, the average pregnancy takes 2 months and the puppies need to stay with their litter until they are about 8-10 weeks old, which means at earliest we will get to pick out the puppy sometime in July.

some of the items for our trip to europe in october have been taken care of – namely our flights there and back to canada. secondly, our accommodations in Munich for Oktoberfest are booked. I was really worried about those in particular because as of now, seven months out from Oktoberfest, the city is almost booked solid. It will be smoother sailing from here on out.  I am still participating in once weekly german lessons, and at the moment I’m hoping to find some way to practice more of the spoken and listening part with an actual speaker of the language.

Lastly, I am seriously considering writing a book. Although I am sure of the general content and topic I don’t feel ready to discuss much more than the idea "I want to write a book". It’s going to be written over the next decade and is my nest egg idea. Maybe writing will bail me out if I get sick of doing IT, I don’t know. Or maybe it will just always be that big dream that I never get started. People will always bug me – "Peter, when are you going to finish writing that book?", they’ll say.

I kind of like the idea of that.

