wow. it’s kind of a slow january – calm before the storm I guess.

Christmas holidays were really good, thanks for asking. It was a little strange this year because jellybean had to work the graveyard shift during christmas eve, christmas day, and boxing day, but we still did go around and visit a lot with family. Because of her work schedule we had the whole first week of the new year’s off together and we did some bumming around in Regina.

Prior to new year’s we went to see the breeder of our potential puppies, to get a feel for the breeder’s operation and brood. I’m not sure how to describe her exactly and politely so I’ll put it this way – she’s a dog nut, and she’s dog crazy. Everything was clean, and the 4 adult dogs we saw looked well cared for. All of them (except one of her new arrivals) had great temperaments. They are a little tinier than what I was expecting, but after having only seen 80lb golden retrievers and Australian cattle dogs in the last 6 months I guess a 6lb puppy is going to be pretty small in comparison. And of course, with a mix of puppy and show cuts, they are really cute little fluff balls. She’ll be letting us know when the mama is pregnant and we’re super excited!

New Year’s eve "Friends and Family" played for a good 4 hours at a small town bar, and it was a lot of fun. My parents even came out to listen and enjoy – my dad knew most of the songs well so one could tell he really enjoyed it. Well, both – My mom and dad were actually dancing, and I think that’s the first time I’ve ever seen them do that.

I’ve been hearing through the grapevine that I may be getting a little bit of a raise at work – that coupled with some other awesome financial happenings means jellybean and I may actually be able to start saving for a house this year. Maybe even have a extra financial wiggle room beyond that. Yeah, we’re not struggling and starving or anything, but it’s nice to even start hoping to save for a house with all the insanity in the housing market.

Although we haven’t had to call the cops on our neighbors upstairs for a long time, it’s been close. I don’t think either of us is going anywhere for a while, but the sooner one of us does, the better.

They don’t bother to take off their shoes in their apartment (she wears heels and runs from one end of the apartment to the other) and they move/throw furniture regularly. They’ve also recently taken up singing badly at the top of their lungs, and their ay-em sex schedule still causes a few sleepless nights here and there. In addition, one night at 4am we were awakened when our bathroom fan starting pouring water. Apparently one of them decided to have a bath, then went back to sleep, not bothering to turn off the fucking water. I maintain my opinion that a trailer park somewhere has misplaced these folks.

