so we sat down to hammer out a lease with our landlord to get a lock on our apartment price for a year..turns out he was just going to deliver a memo that rent is going up again. 100 dollars a month increase in the past 4 months. 15%. and of course, no, we can’t get a lease for the previous rent price, no, we can only have 2 months at that price and then have to get a whole new lease at the new price..so being pigeon-holed because we’re trying to save money to buy a house, we are bent over and raped smiling and nodding the whole way.

i thought to myself, "you big dirty cunt".

the situation that has caused this problem is alberta. well, mostly calgary. since real estate has reached it’s peak market value there, investors have decided to look elsewhere to buy up property hoping they will make a killing on it. they choose saskatoon. problem is, growth rate in saskatoon is averaging 3% a year, and saskatchewan’s population has decreased 9 out of the last 10 years. why would you choose here? maybe they’re thinking people from Calgary will buy property and private jets and just fly to work every day from Saskatoon.

i digress. To sum up, the population isn’t thriving or growing, people are still making the same wages – and everything else, including gasoline (don’t get me started on that) is going up in price. but still real estate investors are artificially inflating housing prices by buying up shit here. and thank my lucky stars, apartment firms are seeing that momentum and using it as an excuse to jack up prices for renters.

I’ll dilute my point a bit by kicking myself in the ass for not having bought when I had a really big wad of savings, instead having gone to europe. I could have both a nice house now and have had a nice trip to europe if I had done things backwards. But I really can’t change things because no one has offered me free time machine use.

I also have to relax a bit because I can afford the rent hike. We’ve been scouring the papers lately for cheaper apartments in the city Hopefully without vomit stained halls and neighbors who routinely threaten to cut each other with butcher knives at 4am. But the story is the same all over Saskatoon.. rent is up. I feel for young couples who want to save for a house who both have car and student loan payments and maybe a few young ones to feed. It sucks.

It sucks.

